5 FUN Non-Traditional Date Ideas

Need ideas for a fun first date? Looking for a first date that’s laid back, casual, fun AND inexpensive?

These dates are non-traditional and super interactive. Nothing wrong with dinner and a movie. However, I always opt out of the movies for a first date. It limits you to getting to know each other. You also want to make sure you’d even want to go on a second date with this person!

Sometimes even dinners can be awkward at first. you want something that will create an immediate conversation starter and won’t break the bank! Regardless, of your levels of expertise these dates are bound to make you laugh!

Billiards

I love going to the pool hall. My skills are decent at best but I love to see my date’s reaction when they realize I “can actually play.” Playing pool is fun, if you are the better pool player, then you can definitely impress your date. It’s an instant conversation starter, maybe even add a little trash talk. The background music is usually low enough to hear each other. making the atmosphere more relaxing. Most pool halls have a bar, sell food and drinks, which opens up your night to more options! Since playing pool is casual, you don’t have the pressure of having to “dress up” for your first date. Allowing you to be more YOU, unless dressing up is your thing.

Bowling

I mean c’mon who doesn’t love Bowling! A little competitive action between you and your date is always fun. Same like playing pool, bowling is casual, making those first date jitters nonexistent and maybe even opening the doors to some flirting! The great thing is not everyone is an expert bowler so get ready for a lot of laughing. Bowling helps you learn more about your date too. Well, go try it, you’ll thank me later!

Ice Cream

How about an Ice Cream date? Some people go on coffee dates now for meet and greets but how about some ice cream? I went on an ice cream date and I thought it was such a wonderful idea. We grabbed some ice cream and walked around the neighborhood. The date went so well, we ended up going to a pizzeria for oven-brick pizza just to keep the date going!

Pottery/Paint Class

I once asked a guy if he would like to go to a pottery class but what I actually wanted to hear was his reaction and see if he was down for something non-competitive. He passed the test with flying colors! Anyhoot, doing a pottery/paint class is a great way to break the ice, if arts isn’t your thing, imagine all the laughs you and your date can share, if you’re pretty terrible at it. Also, you will get to take your “masterpiece” home. I’ve found great date ideas on Groupon, as well!

Ping Pong

This one is MY absolute favorite! I tried this for the first time as a date and it was ridiculously fun! Our levels of “expertise” totally matched which made an interesting few games. I’m super competitive and apparently he is too. I have to say one of the most satisfying dates I had in a long time! So, please try this, it’s different, inexpensive and you’re guaranteed to work up an appetite! Head to dinner (sweaty and all), then talk about the awesome experience you just had.

BONUS:

If it’s summer time, here are some ideas: Outdoor Movie Night, Kayaking, White Water Rafting, Dinner with Live Entertainment, Rooftop Dinner, Dinner or Party Cruise.

Moral of the Story:

Go out on dates that will ease those first date nerves! Most importantly have fun! Also, I think if you suggest these kinds of dates your guy will definitely love it, if he’s into that stuff! Even if you and your date, don’t work out, at least you had a good experience unlike, my douche bag one.

Till next post, my Lovelies!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close